adventuresofarestlessmind

Explorations and Music On The Streets

Posted on: October 5, 2013

Every time I get cabin fever and decide go explore somewhere off campus, in Boston, I wonder, why don’t I do this more often?
 
Lately I’m finding that the more I explore Boston and surrounding areas, the more readiness and excitement I feel about leaving the country.  
 
(That’s not an insult to Boston at all.  I really believe it’s the perfect college city — it has the bookstores, the collegiate coffee shops, and so many ice cream options.) 
 
I say that because today I hopped on the Boston weekend shuttle and went to Harvard Square to see the street piano near the famous Harvard Square Starbucks.  (It’s on Brattle Street, if you know the area.)   
 
A British artist started a project called “Play Me, I’m Yours” to put beautifully hand-painted pianos on city streets, for anyone to play, and the project came to Boston this month!  Here is more information on it: http://www.streetpianos.com/   (See, I knew I picked the right country to study abroad in!)

 Image

The piano: 

Image

 

Air Traffic Controller, the band that came by to play a free show: 

Image

And a video of them: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=225889997573861&set=vb.145080375654824&type=2&theater

Playing and listening to music, even surrounded by total strangers, I felt a beautiful, magical sense of connection.  Connection to the people there, and to the city of Boston/Cambridge.  Music does that for people, like nothing else can.  I felt it when I sat down to play “Somewhere Only We Know” by Keane and the lead singer of the band said that was one of his favorite songs as well.

And this is what I’m most looking forward to about going abroad — the chance to walk the streets of many new cities and feel their essence, for however long I’m there. 

Leave a Reply

